How the Arctic was conquered

From the cycle of Arctic tourist routes «Arctic Petersburg»

The unique route will tell about the glorious history of the conquest of the Arctic by sailors and scientists. The life of many famous explorers of the northern expanses was closely connected with Saint Petersburg. And, of course, the romance of northern travels, the story of the fate of the heroes of the Arctic, exciting adventures among the eternal ice - all this makes our excursion truly unforgettable.

  • museums 2
5 km, 477 m

Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute

Bering ulitsa, 38

The Research Institute carries out the whole cycle of work in polar latitudes: field research and data processing, compilation of maps and weather forecasts. The Institute monitors the natural environment at the Arctic stations: «Ice Base Baranov Mys», «Tiksi», scientific center «Spitsbergen».

In 2020, the institute celebrated its 100th anniversary. Several generations of polar explorers and scientists grew up here. More than 200 expeditions to the Arctic and Antarctic have been carried out.

1

Monument to the Pioneers and Explorers of the Arctic

Bering ulitsa, 38

The monument was erected at the corner of Bering and Nalichnaya Streets on Vasilievsky Island of Saint Petersburg on the territory of the State Scientific Center of the Russian Federation «Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute». The day of the grand opening coincided with the date of the 280th anniversary of the founding of Vasilievsky Island. The monument is a two-meter-high bronze figure of a man in fur clothes, whose gaze is turned into the distance. The pedestal is made of white granite in the form of a block of ice. At the foot of the sculpture are two dogs, members of polar expeditions. The inscription «For those who walked first, those who are walking now, those who still have to pass» is carved in white granite. The creators of the monument are the author of the idea, a member of the Polar Explorers Club, Igor Butvina, chief sculptor Boris Sergeev, artist Vasily Suzov and sculptor Olga Pankratova.

101 m
2

Smolensk Cemetery, Vilkitsky family burial

Kamskaya ulitsa, 26A

Outstanding Russian hydrographers, researchers of the Northern Sea Route.

8 places in the Arctic were named after the Vilkitskys. These include a strait, a bay, two headlands, a glacier and four islands.

Andrey Ippolitovich Vilkitsky (1 (13) .07.1858, Borisovskiy district of Minskaya province. - 26.02 (11.03) .1913, St. Petersburg) - Russian hydrographer, geodesist, explorer of the seas of the Arctic Ocean, general of the corps of hydrographs, head of the Main Hydrographic Directorate.

Boris Andreevich Vilkitsky (March 22 [April 3] 1885, Pulkovo - March 6, 1961, Brussels) - Russian naval officer, hydrographer, surveyor, Arctic explorer, discoverer of Severnaya Zemlya.

552 m
3
Admiral Makarov State University of Maritime and Inland Shipping

Admiral Makarov State University of Maritime and Inland Shipping

St. Petersburg, Dvinskaya ul., 5/7

State University of Maritime and River Fleet named after Admiral S.O. Makarov

Kosaya liniya, house 15, lit. A

The date of foundation of the educational institution is December 2, 1809. On this day, by the manifesto of Emperor Alexander I, the Department of Water Communications and the Expedition of Road Construction in the State were transformed into the Institute of the Corps of Railway Engineers. Over the two-century history, the university has changed its names several times. In 2012, as a result of reorganization, it received the name of the Federal State Budgetary Educational Institution of Higher Education “State University of Maritime and River Fleet named after Admiral S.O. Makarov ". The University has combined the scientific and educational potential and traditions of the St. Petersburg State University of Water Communications - the oldest university for training personnel for water transport - and the State Maritime Academy, leading its history since 1876 from the Nautical classes of the St. Petersburg Yacht Club and named since 1949 after name of Vice Admiral S.O. Makarov.

2 km, 217 m
4

Saint Petersburg Mining University (Gorny University)

Saint Petersburg, naberezhnaya Leitenanta Shmidta, 49

The Mining University was the first higher technical educational institution in Russia, founded by the decree of Empress Catherine II in 1773 for the training of engineering personnel in the mining industry.

The University trains personnel for specialties in demand in the Arctic in the field of geology and geophysics, well drilling, oil and gas production, chemical technology and environmental protection.

Fundamental and applied research related to the development of the Arctic region is also being carried out in the University.

The collection of the Museum of the Mining University contains unique minerals, ores, rocks, paleontological rarities, collections of models, models on the history of mining and mining equipment, edged weapons, stone-cutting and jewelry art. The museum funds amount to 240 thousand exhibits, many of which have no analogues.

1 km, 249 m
5

Monument to Norwegian Polar Explorer R. Amundsen

Saint Petersburg, naberezhnaya Leitenanta Shmidta, 23 Liniya Vasilievskogo Ostrova

The monument to the outstanding Norwegian polar explorer Roald Amundsen was open in Saint Petersburg on June 18, 2018. The bust of the famous Norwegian, who had been the first to reach the South Pole, was donated to the Soviet Union by the Norwegian government back in 1972. It stood in the garden of the Fontanny Dom (Sheremetyev Palace) when the Institute for the Arctic and Antarctic was located there. After the institute moved to a new building, the bust was kept in the warehouse of the Museum of Urban Sculpture.

The re-opening of the monument to Roald Amundsen is timed to coincide with the 90th anniversary of the death of the polar explorer and the 90th anniversary of the rescue by the icebreaker Krasin of the Arctic expedition of Umberto Nobile, whose airship crashed off the coast of Spitsbergen. The monument was erected on the Lieutenant Schmidt embankment in front of the Krasin icebreaker. Amundsen was the first to conquer the South Pole and the first to reach the North Pole, participating in an air expedition. The sea, mountain, glacier, bay, basin, polar station and asteroid are named after this outstanding explorer.

62 m
6
The Icebreaker "Krasin" Museum

The Icebreaker "Krasin" Museum

St. Petersburg, Leitenanta Shmidta embankment, 23 line V.O.

Icebreaker "Krasin"

naberezhnaya Leitenanta Shmidta, 23 liniya

The branch of the Museum of the World Ocean in Saint Petersburg – «Icebreaker Krasin» - the flagship of the icebreaker fleet of Russia was built in 1916-1917 by order of the Government of the Russian Empire; in the period from 1917 to 1921 it was located in England, and in 1921 was bought by the Government of Soviet Russia. For a long time the icebreaker was working in the Gulf of Finland. It took part in rescue expeditions in the Arctic. In the summer of 1928, it saved the aeronauts of the airship «Italy». Since 1928, it actively participated in the creation of the Northern Sea Route, where scientists as members of a large crew worked on board. The youth crew, formed on the Krasin under the leadership of 30-year-old captain M. Belousov in the 1930s, became the beginning of a school of future polar captains, mechanics, radio operators, and scientists for the growing icebreaker fleet of Russia. In 1934, the icebreaker crossed the Atlantic, the Panama Canal and the Pacific Ocean to rescue the crew members of the steamship Chelyuskin. Before the beginning of the Great Patriotic War, it was working in the eastern sector of the Arctic. In October 1941, it left for the second expedition across the Pacific Ocean and the Atlantic. It accompanied the polar convoy PQ-15, participated in sea battles, and conducted caravans of ships to the East along the Northern Sea Route. At the expense of the repatriation funds of 1956-1958, the icebreaker underwent a complete modernization in the German Democratic Republic, and worked on the Northern Sea Route until 1972.The development of the Arctic and the Arctic sea shelf set new tasks for the icebreaker's crew. In 1972, the Krasin received the status of a research vessel. The first Arctic oil and gas exploration expedition was on board of the research vessel «Leonid Krasin» in 1974-1976. At present, the Krasin Icebreaker Museum continues to serve the cause of preserving the Arctic marine memory and glory of Russia.

None
7

Как покорялась Арктика

Из цикла Арктических туристских маршрутов «Арктический Петербург»

Уникальный маршрут расскажет о славной истории покорения Арктики мореплавателями и учеными. Жизнь многих знаменитых исследователей северных просторов была тесно связана с Петербургом. И, конечно, романтика северных путешествий, рассказ о судьбах героев Арктики, захватывающих приключениях среди вечных льдов – все это делает нашу экскурсию поистине незабываемой.

Фото: Yuriy Plekhanov (Photo studio NEXT)
  • музеи 2
5 км, 477 м
Арктический и антарктический научно-исследовательский институт

Арктический и антарктический научно-исследовательский институт

Ул. Беринга д.38

В Научно-исследовательском институте проводится весь цикл работ в полярных широтах: полевые исследования и обработка данных, составление карт и метеопрогнозов. Институт выполняет мониторинг природной среды на арктических станциях: «Ледовая база Мыс Баранова», «Тикси», научный центр «Шпицберген».

В 2020 году институту исполнилось 100 лет. Здесь выросло несколько поколений полярников и ученых. Проведено более 200 экспедиций в Арктику и Антарктику.

1
Памятник первопроходцам и исследователям Арктики

Памятник первопроходцам и исследователям Арктики

Ул. Беринга д.38

Памятник установлен на углу улиц Беринга и Наличной Васильевского острова СПб на территории Государственного научного центра РФ «Арктический и антарктический научно-исследовательский институт». День торжественного открытия совпал с датой 280-летия основания Васильевского острова. Памятник представляет собой бронзовую двухметровую фигуру человека в меховой одежде, взгляд которого обращен вдаль. Постамент из белого гранита выполнен в виде глыбы льда. У подножия скульптуры сидят две собаки – участники полярных экспедиций. В белом граните высечена надпись «Тем, кто шел первым, тем, кто идет сейчас, тем, кому еще предстоит пройти». Создатели памятника – автор идеи, член «Клуба полярников» Игорь Бутвина, главный скульптор Борис Сергеев, художник Василий Сузов, скульптор Ольга Панкратова.

101 м
2
Смоленское Кладбище, Семейное захоронение Вилькицских

Смоленское Кладбище, Семейное захоронение Вилькицских

Камская ул., 26А

Выдающиеся российские гидрографы, исследователи Северного морского пути.

Именами Вилькицких названы 8 топонимов в Арктике, пролив, залив, два мыса, ледник и четыре острова.

Андрей Ипполитович Вилькицкий (1(13).07.1858, Борисовский уезд Минской губ. — 26.02(11.03).1913, Санкт-Петербург) — русский гидрограф, геодезист, исследователь морей Северного Ледовитого океана, генерал корпуса гидрографов, начальник Главного гидрографического управления.

Борис Андрееевич Вилькицкий (22 марта [3 апреля]1885, Пулково — 6 марта 1961, Брюссель) — русский морской офицер, гидрограф, геодезист, исследователь Арктики, первооткрыватель Северной Земли.

552 м
3
Государственный университет морского и речного флота имени адмирала С.О. Макарова

Государственный университет морского и речного флота имени адмирала С.О. Макарова

Косая линия д. 15 лит А

Датой основания учебного заведения считается 2 декабря 1809 года. В этот день манифестом императора Александра I Департамент водяных коммуникаций и Экспедиция устроения дорог в государстве были преобразованы в Институт корпуса инженеров путей сообщения. За двухвековую историю вуз неоднократно менял свои названия. В 2012 году в результате реорганизации он получил наименование ФГБОУ ВО «Государственный университет морского и речного флота имени адмирала С.О. Макарова». Университет объединил научно-образовательный потенциал и традиции Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета водных коммуникаций - старейшего вуза по подготовке кадров для водного транспорта – и Государственной морской академии, ведущей свою историю с 1876 года от Мореходных классов Санкт-Петербургского яхт-клуба и носящей с 1949 года имя вице-адмирала С.О.Макарова.

2 км, 217 м
4
ФГБОУ ВО «Санкт-Петербургский Горный университет»

ФГБОУ ВО «Санкт-Петербургский Горный университет»

наб. Лейтенанта Шмидта, 49

Горный университет – первое в России высшее техническое учебное заведение, основанное указом императрицы Екатерины II в 1773 году для подготовки инженерных кадров горнозаводского дела.

В университете готовят кадры по востребованным в Арктике специальностям в сфере геологии и геофизики, бурения скважин, нефтегазовой добычи, химических технологий, охраны окружающей среды.

Выполняются фундаментальные и прикладные исследования, связанные с развитием Арктического региона.

В коллекции музея Горного университета хранятся уникальные минералы, руды, горные породы, палеонтологические редкости, собрания моделей, макетов по истории горной и горнозаводской техники, холодное оружие, изделия камнерезного и ювелирного искусства. Фонды музея составляют 240 тысяч экспонатов, многие не имеют аналогов.

1 км, 249 м
5
Памятник Норвежскому Полярнику Р.Амундсену

Памятник Норвежскому Полярнику Р.Амундсену

набережная Лейтенанта Шмидта, 23 линия

Памятник выдающемуся норвежскому полярному исследователю Руалю Амундсену торжественно открыт 18 июня 2018 года в Санкт-Петербурге. Бюст знаменитому норвежцу, который первым достиг Южного полюса, был подарен Советскому Союзу правительством Норвегии еще в 1972 году. Он стоял в саду Фонтанного дома, когда там располагался Институт Арктики и Антарктики. После переезда института в новое здание бюст хранился на складе Музея городской скульптуры.

Повторное открытие памятника Руалю Амундсену приурочено к 90-й годовщине гибели полярника и 90-летию спасения ледоколом «Красин» арктической экспедиции Умберто Нобиле, дирижабль которого потерпел аварию у берегов Шпицбергена. Для новой жизни монумент установили на набережной Лейтенанта Шмидта перед ледоколом «Красин». Он первым покорил Южный полюс и первым достиг Северного полюса, участвуя в воздушной экспедиции. В честь Амундсена названы море, гора, ледник, залив, котловина, полярная станция и астероид.

62 м
6
Ледокол "Красин"

Ледокол "Красин"

набережная Лейтенанта Шмидта, 23 линия

Филиал Музея Мирового океана в Санкт-Петербурге – «Ледокол «Красин» – флагман ледокольного флота России, построен в 1916–1917 гг. по заказу Правительства Российской Империи, в период с 1917 по 1921 год находился в Англии, и в 1921 году выкуплен Правительством Советской России. Долгое время работал в Финском заливе. Принимал участие в спасательных экспедициях в Арктике. Летом 1928 года спасал аэронавтов дирижабля «Италия». С 1928 года принимал активное участие в формировании Северного морского пути, где в большом составе на борту работали ученые. Молодежный экипаж, сформированный на «Красине» в 1930-е годы под руководством 30-летнего капитана М.П.Белоусова, стал началом школы будущих полярных капитанов, механиков, радистов, ученых для растущего ледокольного флота России. В 1934 году ледокол прошел Атлантику, Панамский канал и Тихий океан, чтобы спасти челюскинцев. До начала Великой Отечественной войны работал в восточном секторе Арктики. В октябре 1941 года уходит во второй поход через Тихий океан и Атлантику. Сопровождал полярный конвой PQ-15, участвовал в морских сражениях, проводил караваны судов на Восток по Севморпути. За счет средств репатриации в 1956–1958 гг. ледокол проходил полную модернизацию в ГДР и работал на трассе Севморпути до 1972 года. Освоение Арктики и морского арктического шельфа поставило перед экипажем ледокола новые задачи. В 1972 году «Красин» получил статус научно-исследовательского судна. Первая Арктическая газонефтеразведывательная экспедиция состоялась на борту НИС «Леонид Красин» в 1974–1976 гг. В настоящее время музей-ледокол «Красин» продолжает служить делу сохранения морской арктической памяти и славы России.

None
7