The 1st Sadovy Bridge

0

The 1st Sadovy Bridge connects Spassky island and the 1st Admiralteysky island across the Moyka river in Central district of St. Petersburg

The first bridge was built here in the 1710s after the reconstruction of the Moyka riverbed.  It was connected with the Fontanka river by a straight canal. A wooden drawbridge was built over the canal for passing masted vessels.

At the end of the ХVIII century the bridge was named the 2nd Tsaritsynsky because it was located next to the Tsaritsyn meadow (the Field of Mars), then it was renamed Mikhailovsky - after the Mikhailovsky castle, later it became Sadovy — from Sadovaya street, and finally, in 1957, the bridge received its current name —  the 1st Sadovy bridge.

In 1798-1801, a new wooden single-span bridge was built on the site of the old one. It happened due to the construction of the Mikhailovsky castle and the replanning of the territory around it.

In 1835-1836 the bridge was rebuilt to a single-span stone arched one by engineers P.P. Bazin, A. D. Gotman, I. F. Buttats. The bridge has a rich architectural decor: cast-iron railings made of round open-worked shields and crossed spears, lighting columns in the form of bundles of spears intertwined by wreaths and decorated by shields with lion masks.

In 1906-1908 the bridge was completely rebuilt by engineer A. P. Pshenitsky and architect L. A. Ilyin due to the opening of tram traffic along Sadovaya Street. The stone arch of the bridge was replaced with steel, and this structure has survived to this day.

During the Siege, the decor was severely damaged, and then recreated during the restoration work.

To leave a review you need to authorize first
Anonymous
Administrator of visit-petersburg.ru
Show more

0

1-й Садовый мост - соединяет Спасский и 1-й Адмиралтейский острова через реку Мойку в Центральном районе Санкт-Петербурга

Первая переправа в этом месте появилась в 1710-х годах после переустройства русла Мойки. Прямым каналом ее соединили с Фонтанкой и через этот канал перекинули деревянный разводной мост с подъемной средней частью для пропуска мачтовых судов.

В XVIII веке мост носил имя 2-й Царицынский — по расположенному рядом Царицыну лугу (ныне Марсово поле), затем переименовали в Михайловский - по расположенному рядом Михайловскому замку,  позднее он стал Садовым — по Садовой улице, и, наконец,  в  1957 году переправа получила современное название — 1-й Садовый мост.

В 1798–1801 годах на месте старого моста соорудили новый неразводной деревянный однопролетный мост. Это было связано со строительством Михайловского замка и перестройкой  всей территории вокруг него.  

В 1835–1836 годах по проекту инженеров П.П. Базена, А.Д. Готмана и И.Ф. Буттаца был сооружён каменный мост.  Мост отличался богатым архитектурным декором. На нём установили чугунные перила с круглыми ажурными щитами и скрещенными копьями. Фонарные торшеры были выполнены в виде связок пик с накладками из щитов и венков и увенчаны двуглавыми орлами.

В 1906-1907 годах к открытию трамвайного движения по Садовой улице мост был полностью перестроен по проекту инженера А.П. Пшеницкого и архитектора Л.А. Ильина. Каменный свод был заменен стальным, и эта конструкция сохранилась до наших дней. 

В годы блокады декор был значительно поврежден, а затем воссоздан в ходе реставрационных работ.

Для того, чтобы оставить отзыв, Вам необходимо авторизоваться
Аноним
Администратор visit-petersburg.ru
Показать еще